impac prize. world’s richest literary award

The shortlist of the 2010 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was announced today. The 8 titles were selected from a total of 156 novels nominated by 163 public library systems in 123 cities worldwide and includes three British writers and American author Marilynne Robinson.

1. The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker (Dutch) in translation.
2. The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (Moroccan / French) in translation.
3. In Zodiac Light by Robert Edric (British)
4. Settlement by Christoph Hein (German) in translation.
5. The Believers by Zoë Heller (British).
6. Netherland by Joseph O’Neill (Irish)
7. God’s Own Country by Ross Raisin (British)
8. Home by Marilynne Robinson (American)

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is the largest and most international prize of its kind. It involves libraries from all corners of the globe, and is open to books written in any language.

The complete list of eligible titles can be viewed here.

You may also like

1 Comment

  • Flynn
    Apr 23, 2010 at 2:21

    The only one on that list I’ve read is Netherland, and I really enjoyed it.